While Others Got Chocolates And Gifts From Their Masi’s, I Got A Judo Uniform And Coach As Mine.

When I Was Small My Masi Always Took Me To Her Judo Class Where She Used To Practice And Coach Her Students I Was Always Fascinated Kid But Too Small To Understand This Sport. All I Enjoyed Was Playing With My Masi’s Students.

And This Was My Summer Vacations Best Pass Time Whenever I Went To Stay At My Masi’s Place.

She Use To Take Me To The Class And Then To The Competitions. I Remember Coming Back From Classes I Use To Do All The Basic Exercises At Night And Show It To My Mom That I Learnt And Did In Class With Masi.

I Loved Doing Front Rolls And Kart Wheel

As Time Passed I Started Understanding The Game Bit But Wanted Know More And Play So That’s When I Told Masi That Even I Want To Play Judo.

 She Thought That I Was Not Ready Yet So She Told That I Still Have To Wait And Then When I Entered My 5th Grade I Again Told Masi That I Want To Play Judo And This Time She Agreed

But She Told Me One Thing

That Before You Start Playing This Sport You Will Have To Always Keep In Mind The 6 D’s As A Player And Those Are:

Desire, Determination, Discipline, Devotion, Dedication And Destiny

And That’s How My Journey As A Judoka Started

But Today Story Is Not About My Journey As A Judoka But Its My Masi’s Journey

She Stared Her Journey As A Judo Player When She Was In Her First Year Junior College As A College Sport With All The Six D’s Keeping  In Mind Which Her Coach Told Her When She Stepped Into This Sport

She Very Well Knew Her Journey Was Not Going To Be Easy, But It Is Always Said That

Never Give Up Without Trying

And Practice Makes Man Perfect  

She Wholeheartedly Practiced And Won Many Competitions With Medal And Trophies And Made Her Family Proud.

She Was The Only One To Play Such A Sport From Her Family And That Too Being A Girl Because In Those Times Girls Weren’t Allowed To Talk To Boys Or Play Sports.

But My Masi Use To Practice With Boys And Play Sports And This Wouldn’t Have Been Possible Without Having A Family Support And A Coach Who Was A Guiding Angel In Her Life.

After This Moment Judo Was Not Only A Sport For Her But It Was Her Passion Which She Then Made Her Profession

But We Say That Without Injuries A Player Is Never Identified As A True Player.

So That’s When In 1997 She Had To Leave Judo Because Of Her Major Injury. But How Can You Ask A Person To Give Away Her Life

She Rested For One Year And Got Back On Mat As A Coach So That She Does Not Have To Leave Her Passion Because Of An Injury.

After Few Years She Started Practicing Lightly Not Giving Much Strain On Her Injury. But Her Dream Was Left Incomplete As She Always Wanted To Play In International Games Representing India.

But It Truly Said If You Work Hard Towards Achieving Your Dreams One Day You Will Surely Achieve Them.

And 7th November 2018 Was That One Day Where She Achieved Her Dream To Play In Commonwealth Judo Championship – Grand Masters Representing India. And Also Won Silver Medal For Our Country.

Everyone Was So Proud As After 20 Years Her Dream Was Fulfilled And As The Creator Of Judo Sensei Jigoro Kano Said

“If There Is Effort, There Is Always Accomplishment”

-Dimpi Kakkad

#BlogchatterA2Z

Also Read: Iqbal Chacha #BlogchatterA2Z